Landmark Inn    
Home Contact Us About Our Restaurant Menu Reservations Feedback    

ABOUT OUR RESTAURANT





 

LANDMARK INN


    The Landmark Inn was originally homesteaded by William Clark in 1770, and later sold to Conrad Sly in 1780, who in 1778 directed the forging of the great iron chain - a 500 foot, 186 ton iron chain that was placed across the Hudson River at West Point in an attempt to stop the British ships from navigating up the river. Forged at Sterling Iron Works in Warwick, it took many men eight weeks to manufacture, transport, assemble, and install the chain across the river. It was never tested by the Royal Navy.

            Conrad lived with his wife Anna and their six children, farming and maintaining a blacksmith shop on the property until his death in 1813. His descendants continued farming until 1950 when his great granddaughter, Hannah Sly died. The farm was sold and the property divided, leaving the farmhouse on 3 of the 22 original acres.

            In 1953 the house was purchased by Gordon and Cynthia Richardson who set about converting the house into a restaurant. At this time the kitchen and dining rooms were added. The unique ceiling, covered in doors, was Gordon’s idea. At the time the restaurant was being finished, the Red Swan Inn, a hotel in Warwick was being torn down to make way for a new country club and golf course. Gordon and his friends salvaged the doors and used them for the ceiling still in place in our dining room.

            The restaurant had a bawdy reputation, during the 1950’s and 60’s, and was very popular with young people who would frequent the bar, often carving their names in the walls.

             In the early seventies the Richardsons sold the Landmark Inn to one of their bartenders, Steve Kasmar, who continued running the restaurant in a similar manner. After Steve’s passing in 1988 his family sold the restaurant to two businessmen from Bergen County, NJ. They in turn completely renovated and restored the Inn.

            Four years later, in 1993, the present day owners, Michael and Rachel DiMartino, purchased the restaurant. Both graduates of the Culinary Institute of America in Hyde Park NY, they set out to create an atmosphere and menu to match the rich history of the Inn, with a focus on locally sourced ingredients in the style of contemporary American cuisine. The kitchen prepares all menu items from scratch including, most notably, the handmade ice creams and cakes.

              The restaurant today, on the main floor of the house, is comprised of two dining rooms located off a large parlor and a separate bar area with additional dining space. The second floor is now a residence. Dinner is served Tuesday through Sunday and the restaurant is closed on Mondays.